November 9, 2017

The Minister’s Awards for Transportation Innovation (MATI) are presented annually by the Minister of Transportation to recognize innovative people and organizations in Alberta. Nominations can be submitted for any public transportation (Alberta Transportation or municipality) project in Alberta related to roads, bridges, or multi-modal transportation. Nominations can be submitted by either a local or provincial government body, or the engineering/construction firm involved in the project and should focus on innovative transportation projects, particularly those that are “firsts” in Alberta. There is no limit on the scope or scale of a project.

MATI is looking for innovative transportation projects in the following categories:

  • Design Innovation
  • Construction Innovation
  • Environmental Innovation
  • Safety Innovation
  • Operational Innovation
  • Transit/Accessible Transportation Innovation


More information about each category and the Nomination Form are in the Nomination Guidelines and Forms, found here.

Questions and nominations may be mailed or emailed to:

Helen Lam, Manager, Corporate Services
Alberta Transportation
3rd Floor, Twin Atria Building
4999-98 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta  T6B 2X3
Phone: 780-422-7486

Nominations must be submitted by 12pm on Monday, January 8, 2018.

The Minister of Transportation will present the awards at the 2018 Tri-Party Conference, held March 12, 2018 in Red Deer. The AAMDC encourages members to recognize innovative transportation projects in their jurisdiction by nominating them for a Minister’s Award for Transportation Innovation.

Enquiries may be directed to:

Chelsea Parent
Policy Analyst

Kim Heyman
Director, Advocacy & Communications

In This Section

Get Contact!

Contact! is the AAMDC's weekly newsletter. Sign up to receive the latest municipal, provincial and federal news affecting rural Alberta.
Please wait